Fun with Maps 153&154

Map 153 comes from my own WordPress stats page. WordPress tells me how many page views I get each day and which posts people are reading. It might not be terribly exciting for anyone but me, really, but there is a map for each day that shows me where my readers live.

map-153

 

The mamap-153-supplementp above is from October 2nd, a day of particular heavy activity on my blog. One of my posts was linked on Reddit under the post “Today I Learned: The City of Minneapolis has over 11 miles of skyways”; something I have covered twice before with Maps 33 and 150. The latter was posted on October 1st. Imagine my surprise, then, that the post gaining so much attention was Map 33! 24 of my 29 views on October 2nd were for a post that was two years old. These people were spread throughout the planet. Seven of them were in the United Kingdom while the United States was second with six views. I’m not sure who linked my Map 33 on Reddit but I do appreciate the added attention (something you could help me with by sharing this post on your Facebook and Twitter accounts (and Reddit)). I could, hypothetically, use my reader statistics to fine-tune my blog posts and increase overall appeal. I have, in fact, noticed that people really seem to like when I talk about my infant son, James. Posts with “baby” as a tag are extremely popular!

 

 

* * * * *

Roughly 67,000 people flocked to California during the Gold Rush in 1849, over one-third of which got there by ship. “During the height of the gold excitement, there were at least five hundred ships stranded in the harbor, some without even a watchman on board, and none with a crew sufficiently large to work her. Many of these vessels never sailed again. Some rotted away and sank at their moorings” while others were refurbished and used for a variety of purposes such as housing, coal storage, and a floating church/hotel. Many of the ships that couldn’t be repurposed ended up in the bay as part of a land-expansion project. “Water lots were dispensed on condition that buyers fill them with land. This way, the city wanted to bring the shoreline closer to the deeper part of the Bay, facilitating the delivery of goods. The easiest way to claim a water lot was to scuttle a ship.” Map 154 shows the original and current shorelines and the possible locations of many sunken ships.

map-154

Pieces of ships have been discovered underneath buildings throughout the former Yerba Buena Cove. Imagine doing a basement renovation and discovering part of 19th Century ship!  I find it very interesting just how much land was added. The source article at Big Think mentioned that the added land is some of the flattest in the entire city of San Francisco. Many iconic neighborhoods and scenic locations only exist because of the added land, including the Embarcadero, the Financial District, and some of the most famous piers in the World. San Francisco really is amazing. I would love to visit it more often.

MAP UPDATE: National Geographic covered this very same topic in a recent article online. Their maps are really great and I thought they would add to your map experience. What do you think?

Map 154 Update Supplement

Maps really are cool, aren’t they?! You know what else is cool? My son James! He has been sleeping a little better lately but typically only when held. That means Beth hasn’t been able to sleep much at all. He’s a happy, smiling baby when he’s awake (most of the time) and we absolutely love him. I only wish I could be at home with them more but I don’t have any vacation time (hence all the map posts and no vacation ones). I cannot wait until he is a bit older so we can take him all over this beautiful country on fun road trips. Soon.

 

Until next time,

 

Bryan Signature 2

 

 

Bonus Map Link: Alternate History Africa

 

 

Sources/Links:
https://bryanknutson.wordpress.com/
http://bigthink.com/strange-maps/ghost-ship-map-of-san-francisco
http://news.nationalgeographic.com/2017/05/map-ships-buried-san-francisco/

 

 

Leave a Reply

