Fun with Maps 147&148

I’m writing this edition of Fun with Maps while simultaneously watching the first Presidential Debate between Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton and Monday Night Football between the Atlanta Falcons and the New Orleans Saints. If it seems like I’m distracted while I write you’re damn right! In case it wasn’t clear through many previous posts of mine, I’m with Hillary and Trump is a scary, racist, unprepared, moron. Now for the maps!

Map 147 came to me via email from Foursquare, a location check-in application and website that I use that has over 50 million monthly users. It has a purpose, mostly commercial for businesses and advertisers, but I like to use it regardless. This map was included in an article about the best coffee shops in each of the 50 States. You can see the full list and zoom in to the map here.

map-147a

map-147b

I don’t drink coffee and I never will. I had tiramisu once and hated it (no offense to the person that made it). That being said, I know a lot of people love coffee. It was the first thing my beautiful wife Beth wanted to eat or drink after giving birth (withdrawal from nine months without). I don’t drink it but I know coffee is a large part of our culture here in America. It could have been tea but that went out the window (and into the harbor) a long time ago. There are people I work with that drink 10+ cups a day! Water coolers disappeared only to be replaced by coffee pots as the number one place for coworkers to meet and exchange pleasantries.

map-147c

The coffee shops on the Foursquare list are all mom and pop places. You won’t find Starbucks, Caribou (a Minnesota company), or Dunkin’ Donuts anywhere on this list (they’re everywhere in real life). The Minnesota entry is Peace Coffee Shop in the trendy Longfellow neighborhood of Minneapolis. What is the entry from your state? If you’re from another country, how does coffee exist in your culture? Let me know in the comments below!

* * * * *

Map 148 is from a video game. Video game nerds rejoice! Have you ever played Fallout 4? I haven’t had the pleasure myself but I know it has been quite popular. Players in Fallout 4 walk around collecting items and completing challenges and this map shows every place to pick up all the goodies (so spoilers, I guess).

map-148

Let’s learn a bit more about the game from Wikipedia: “Fallout 4 is a post-apocalyptic role-playing game developed by Bethesda Game Studios[2] and published by Bethesda Softworks. It is the fifth major installment in the Fallout series (7th overall), and was released on Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One on November 10th, 2015″.

map-148b

I may not know the specifics of this game or the locations within but this map is awesome! Every single video game should have a map of this quality. The fans that made it are incredibly skilled and worthy of praise. It must have been fun to create, and technically, the creation of the game’s map itself must have been really fun too! It really makes me want to play this game just to see how all the places look in first-person. I’m sure it would be a thrill for consistent players of this game to recognize all the points of interest as well as all the places to find items. It’s probably quite helpful for new players too. Here are some close-ups to look at or you can go to the source website and zoom in to read everything easier.

map-148cmap-148d

Hillary was better and the Falcons are ahead with a couple minutes left. I’m pleased in both cases although I care a lot less about the latter. I don’t have a ton of players from either team represented in my seven fantasy football teams and a Trump Presidency could destroy this country that love.

Until next time,

 

 

Bryan Signature 2

 

 

 

 

 

Sources/Links:
https://foursquare.com/foursquare/list/your-next-coffee-fix?fbLoginFailed=true
https://foursquare.com/about
http://nerdist.com/this-extremely-detailed-fallout-4-map-is-rad/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fallout_4
Leave a Reply

