Fun with Maps 119&120

The bean bag tournament I was running at work concluded today. The winning team split $100 cash courtesy of my employer. My team (Throwin’ Shade) finished third out of eighteen teams, unfortunately, but everyone involved had a great time and I got a lot of credit for organizing the whole thing. So, that’ what I’ve been up to. Now it’s map time!

Map 119 is sort of a follow up to Map 117 in that it concerns illegal narcotics.

Map 119

Unlike the drugs involved in Map 117, some states have already made this particular drug, marijuana, legal. There are different forms of and uses for marijuana, including medical ones, but I’m not a huge fan of the recreational kind, myself. There are countless people that will expound upon the ways it is a non-threatening drug, especially compared to many more dangerous ones, but I don’t have to like it. There are negative health effects. People under the influence of marijuana can make (additional) poor choices such as hopping in their car and driving impaired or messing around with weapons while under the influence.

There are four states that have made marijuana legal through public vote; Washington, Oregon, Colorado, and Alaska. More states, California, Nevada, Arizona, Massachusetts, and Maine, are set to vote on whether they will join the first four. Those states allow marijuana for medical use in addition to many others in the Northeast, the Midwest, and Montana, New Mexico, Louisiana, and Hawaii. All the states in grey have zero legalization of marijuana so far. While I’d like to see the medical uses legalized, I do fear what could happen if recreational pot is more prevalent in this country. Call me an alarmist, I’ve been called worse, but I’m apprehensive towards even the tamest of drugs (as some claim it is). I don’t like the idea of altering my mind for the purposes of entertainment. I’ve mentioned this many times previously but I don’t drink or use drugs. My brain is fine the way it is and I don’t feel the need to alter its state in order to have a good time. People are allowed to make the opposite decision for themselves, of course, but I want those out there that feel the same way I do to know they are not alone and it’s okay to refrain.

 

Map 120 covers recent Russian military interactions with NATO and non-aligned forces. This absolutely beautiful map crossed my newsfeed on Facebook but it was linked from Business Insider. The key contains icons for several different types of interactions and altercations such as air and naval activity, military activity, cyber attacks, and meetings/announcements. The variety of interactions appears highly necessary as the European landscape has been littered with dust-ups this year (technically 45 days of this year). This is especially interesting (and unnerving) as there is no current war in Europe. There is currently a massive conflict in Syria involving the Russian Military but that shouldn’t affect Europe. Russian muscles are being flexed worldwide, however. American submarines, ships, and airplanes have had several close calls with Russian military vehicles. Thanks to the Institute For The Study For War (ISW) for creating the map and to Vladimir Putin for being 60-70% insane.

Map 120

 

That’s it for this edition. I’m off to a party at my cousin’s house an hour away. I’m so starved for a vacation I may just have to write a road trip post about it.

Until next time,

 

Bryan Signature 2

 

 

Bonus Map Link: Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wilds

 

 

 

 

Sources/Links:
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/legalized-marijuana-sweeping-u-one-113003350.html
http://www.webmd.com/mental-health/addiction/marijuana-use-and-its-effects
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/one-map-shows-mounting-tensions-170948189.html
http://www.businessinsider.com/russian-warship-close-call-with-us-navy-2016-7
http://nerdist.com/a-detailed-look-at-the-legend-of-zelda-breath-of-the-wilds-massive-map/
Leave a Reply

