Fun with Maps 53&54

Happy Belated Thanksgiving! I’ve been focusing a lot on my Trip #7 posts lately but now it’s time for more maps! There will be fun too, as the two are synonymous.

Map 53 shows intelligence throughout the United States. I know, sometimes it seems like all Americans are complete morons (and many of us are, to be fair) but this map shows the relative intelligence between residents in the fifty states.

Map 53I found this map on Mandatory but it looks that site got it from the Washington Post, which in turn referenced a number of data sets to make their rankings. The data used include IQ, 2015 SAT and ACT Scores, and the percentage of college graduates living in each state. If you are interested in how they compiled the data and rankings, head over to the Washington Post page after finishing Fun with Maps!

Here are the results in order:

  1. Massachusetts
  2. Minnesota
  3. New Hampshire
  4. Connecticut
  5. Wisconsin
  6. Kansas
  7. Vermont
  8. Iowa
  9. New Jersey
  10. Colorado
  11. South Dakota
  12. Nebraska
  13. Virginia
  14. North Dakota
  15. Illinois
  16. Missouri
  17. New York
  18. Ohio
  19. Maine
  20. Maryland
  21. Michigan
  22. Montana
  23. Washington
  24. Utah
  25. Wyoming
  26. Pennsylvania
  27. Oregon
  28. Rhode Island
  29. Delaware
  30. Oklahoma
  31. Kentucky
  32. Indiana
  33. Tennessee
  34. California
  35. Idaho
  36. Arkansas
  37. Alaska
  38. Georgia
  39. Texas
  40. New Mexico
  41. Arizona
  42. North Carolina
  43. Louisiana
  44. West Virginia
  45. South Carolina
  46. Florida
  47. Alabama
  48. Mississippi
  49. Nevada
  50. Hawaii

Congratulations to my home state of Minnesota for coming in second overall. Massachusetts is number one. What do these two states have in common besides intelligence? Most of the members of the 1980 ‘Miracle on Ice’ U.S Men’s Olympic Hockey Team hail from those two states. I’m Minnesotan so I just know that (the Hockey Hall of Fame is in Eveleth, MN too).

A couple of observations:

  1. The North is smarter than the South
  2. The Midwest and New England are hotspots of intelligence
  3. The Dakotas are smarter than the Carolinas
  4. Wisconsin, Kansas, and New Jersey are smarter than I expected
  5. California, Texas, and Hawaii are dumber than I expected
  6. Florida is exactly as dumb as I expected
  7. Good job Iowa, let Donald Trump underestimate you

* * * * *

Map 54 also comes from Mandatory (they got it from Estately) because I saw the first one and that led to lots of links with more maps. MAPS!! This map shows Black Friday Fight Likelihood. That’s quite specific but very timely. Thanksgiving was a week ago and Black Friday also started a week ago. With major retail chains opening as early as 3pm on Thanksgiving Day (shame on you J.C Penney), Black Friday no longer occurs on a Friday. As a former retail employee with several years of retail and retail management experience, I find the decision to open on Thanksgiving a travesty. The sales are great so people will show up, of course, but stores are the ones driving the hours earlier and earlier. One national chain, REI, actually made the choice to not open at all on Thanksgiving or Black Friday. They paid their employees to take an additional day off and gave up an entire day of peak holiday sales because they care about people. If I hadn’t already purchased a bunch of camping stuff for our road trip in September, I’d be giving REI my business right now.

Anyway, as you may know, Black Friday shoppers are notorious for being aggressive, shifty, amoral, and downright mean. I’ve gone out a few times over the years and I’ve never seen anything, but fights, riots, stampedes, and thefts have made Black Friday deal-seekers internet famous. Estately compiled this map using Facebook user data and crime reports. It’s far from a scientific study but this is Fun with Maps, not, um, a science book. I can’t name any scientific publications. I’m not even sorry.

Map 54

Black Friday Chart

As you can see, Arkansas is the top state with the right mix of criminal activity and Black Friday madness. My least favorite state, Indiana, pops up at #8. Minnesota is #35, which might explain why I never saw an old lady trampled for a 50″ off-brand television. We’ve already learned that the people of Massachusetts are pretty smart but apparently they’re also the least likely to riot for low prices. Who knew?

I did buy some stuff online and in stores this past week. I got a couple dvds of movies and television seasons that were marked down as well as a brand new Toshiba laptop. My HP has seen better days since I got it for Christmas seven years ago (thanks again Mom and Dad!). It still functions but it’s getting slower and I can’t shut the top anymore as it makes an awful cracking sound when I try. I bought my new machine on Amazon for 30% off. I paid more than I originally wanted but that’s only because I added to the list of features I was seeking. I spent the better part of three days shopping online and comparing features and prices. Both my techie brothers-in-law signed off on the one I chose so I ordered it. I’m still getting used to the new key placement on the keyboard but overall I really like it (Windows 10 is definitely an adjustment from Vista). It’s also lighter and the bottom isn’t 400° on my lap!

It’s Winter so you can expect me to post more often as Minnesota has decided I should stay indoors. Thanks for reading!

 

Bonus Map Link: Swearing Trends in the United States

 

Bryan Signature 2

 

Sources:
http://www.mandatory.com/2015/11/17/here-are-the-smartest-and-dumbest-states-in-america/
https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/the-fix/wp/2015/11/13/actually-mr-trump-iowa-is-one-of-the-smartest-states-in-the-union/
http://www.mandatory.com/2015/11/23/these-states-are-most-likely-to-have-fights-resulting-from-black/
Leave a Reply

