Fun with Maps 23&24

I just turned 27. If I were thinking ahead I would have been up to Fun with Maps edition 27&28 by now but alas, I wasn’t. Either way, in honor of my birthday, Maps 23A-23E will be of my home state, Minnesota. I’ve lived in Minnesota my entire life. I’m very proud of my home state so let’s take a look at it! The gallery below shows a satellite image, a road map, precipitation, federal lands like national parks/wildlife reserves, and congressional districts.

Minnesota is the 32nd state in the union. Minnesota is the 12th biggest and the 21st most populous. It has many nicknames, both official and unofficial including; the North Star State, the Gopher State, Land of 10,000 Lakes, and a better-Illinois. It’s the birthplace of cultural phenoms Prince, Bob Dylan, Richard Dean Anderson, Kevin Sorbo and dozens of other (more) famous actors like Chriss Pratt. I don’t love it personally but we pretty much own Hockey. 1980 Miracle on Ice? Mighty Ducks 1-3? That was mostly us. Minnesota is home to 18 Fortune 500 companies including UnitedHealth, 3M, Best Buy, Target, General Mills, and Land O’Lakes. I could go on and on about how great my state is but at some point, it just gets to be too much. I don’t want to make you all so jealous that your lives become depressing and unfulfilled. I just aim to make you partly envious. I hope it worked but don’t everyone move here all at once (the traffic isn’t great already).

* * * * *

Map 24 is less ‘Sota-centric but still fun. The map shows all the territorial acquisitions of the United States. History buffs, grade-schoolers and viewers of How the States Got Their Shapes will likely be familiar with these acquisitions. The most well known is the Louisiana Purchase, of course, but feast your eyes on all the ways the United States has gotten bigger over the years.

US Territorial Acquisitions

Map 24: Territorial Acquisitions of the United States

Winter sucks so I should be working on another post soon. Check back for more Fun with Maps!

Bonus Map Link:

http://www.movoto.com/blog/opinions/crime-maps-over-time/

Bryan Signature 2

Sources:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minnesota
http://www.nationalatlas.gov
Leave a Reply

