Fun with Maps 5&6

MAPS MAPS MAPS!!!!

As a major map nerd, self-diagnosed, I cannot stop myself from making and looking at maps. Map 5 in my continuing series of maps is one of my own creation. Using a list of the best 700+ television shows according to Internet Movie Database popularity I picked out my favorites and marked where they took place (and found out if I didn’t know already). I left off any shows that do not take place in the continental United States, shows that have a different setting each episode, or any show where the location is not known.

Shows set outside the United States: The Inbetweeners, Luther, Battlestar Galactica, Firefly, Rookie Blue and Flashpoint

Shows with a different setting each episode: Criminal Minds, LOST (flashbacks in addition to the mysterious island)

Shows where the exact location is not known: Community, Gilligan’s Island, The Simpsons, and Malcolm in the Middle

TV Shows Map

A few additional notes about my TV Map: I forced myself to choose my favorite of the three Crime Scene Investigation shows (CSI: Miami). Heroes has multiple settings but I chose New York because it was the most important. I left off a few shows that I really like because they aren’t well known and were on air for a short time, such as Knights of Prosperity, John Doe, Reaper, Better Off Ted, Go On, Freaks and Geeks, and the list goes on and on. I also straight up left out a few shows in New York because there simply was no more room. I’ll always love I Love Lucy and The Dick Van Dyke Show.

Map 6 was sent to me by my brother-in-law, Dave. It shows what country is due East and due West of North America and South America. The whole map is very interesting, of course, but the coolest part to me was seeing the gaps in New Zealand and the United Kingdom where Ireland and Australia peek through a little bit. Very cool indeed. Take a look and we’ll see you next time on Fun with Maps!

Map6

 

Bryan Signature 2

 

Leave a Reply

